Additional Resources
Connect with us
Card Offers
ADVERTISEMENT
After creating a debt management plan, stick to it
Don't rack up new debt before you pay off old debt
By Todd&Ossenfort
The Credit Guy
The Credit Guy, Todd Ossenfort, is a credit expert and answers readers' questions about credit, counseling and debt issues.
Dear Credit Guy,
I'm enrolled with a credit counseling organization for help with three credit cards that I misused. So far I've done pretty well -- always making my payments -- but I have to say I haven't see a huge change in the bills I'm receiving from the credit card companies. I've been paying for almost two years on a three-year plan. My real question is that we recently looked at new cars. Knowing our credit wasn't perfect, we had them check our finance options. They seemed to look at us like morons for being part of a credit counseling program, which I didn't know how to defend. Is this stuff legit or would I be better off just trying to pay these bills myself? I honestly don't think so, but this guy told me I would. What does he know that I don't? -- Frank
Dear Frank,
I see these situations quite frequently. First of all, I would ask you to consider the source: A car dealership &finance guy& that gets paid a healthy commission for selling you a loan. Many times these &finance guys& have little or no formal training in budgeting or reading credit reports. Their job is to sell you the loan regardless of what is the best for you.