Thispowerpoint is evilwhat evil c...

c Question,What is wrong with this function?, c Tutorial Videos -
I got a problem today. It had a method and I need to find the problem in that function. The objective of the function is to append new line to the string that is passed. Following is the code
char* appendNewLine(char* str){
int len = strlen(str);
char buffer[1024];
strcpy(buffer, str);
buffer[len] = '\n';
I had identified the problem with this method. Its kind of straight forward. The method is having a potential of having array's index out of range. That is not my doubt. In java, I use '\n' for newline. (I am basically a Java programmer, its been many years I've worked in C). But I vaguely remember '\n' is to denote termination for a string in C. Is that also a problem with this program?
Please advise.
There are 12 answer(s) to this question.
Add a null after the newline:
buffer[len] = '\n';
buffer[len + 1] = 0;
The terminator for a string in C is '\0' not '\n'. It stands only for newline.
First this is a function, not a program.
This function returns a pointer to a local variable. Such variables are typically created on the stack are no more available when the function exits.
Another problem is if the passed is longer than 1024 in this case, strcpy() will write past the buffer.
One solution is to allocate a new buffer in dynamic memory and to return a pointer to that buffer. The size of the buffer shall be len +2 (all chars + newline + \0 string terminator), but someone will have to free this buffer (and possibly the initial buffer as well).
strlent() does not exist, it should be strlen() but I suppose this is just a typo.
No, a '\n' is a new-line in c, just like in Java (Java grabbed that from C). You've identified one problem: if the input string is longer than your buffer, you'll write past the end of buffer. Worse, your
returns the address of memory that's local to the function and will cease to exist when the function exits.