so many people allgo to s___the world by thenself.

华约自主招生6选5英语阅读理解_图文_百度文库
两大类热门资源免费畅读
续费一年阅读会员,立省24元!
华约自主招生6选5英语阅读理解
阅读已结束,下载文档到电脑
想免费下载本文?
定制HR最喜欢的简历
下载文档到电脑,方便使用
还剩7页未读,继续阅读
定制HR最喜欢的简历
你可能喜欢My View: Should everyone go to college? – Schools of Thought -
04:20 AM ET
Share this on:
By Mike Rose, Special to CNN
Editor’s note:
is an educator and author. His newest book is titled “.” He is on the faculty of the UCLA Graduate School of Education and Information Studies.
(CNN) - College changed my life, so when I think about the question of who should go to college, I can’t help but consider it through my own experience. And what I’ve learned from teaching over the past 40 years leads me to think that my experience is not all that unusual.
I was an average student through elementary school, good at reading (which saved me), horrible at math and flat-out hopeless at tasks such as diagramming sentences. I drifted through high school, never in big trouble, but not going anywhere either. Then in my senior year, a young, charismatic English teacher gave us a crash course in Western literature, Homer through Emily Dickinson with a few modern writers thrown in. And we wrote and wrote, and he read every word - and he hooked me.
My overall academic record was dreary, but that teacher got me into a local small college on probation, where I stumbled my first year, luckily encountered some new mentors and eventually found my way.