Black coffee love,s a hand me down brew……”brew是什么么意思?

Six ways to brew coffee around the world - Matador Network
Coffee Beans photo by
From the moka to the sock, here are six different ways to brew your morning pick-me-up.
I worked as a barista in my student years, and developed coffee savvy (yes!) and a serious addiction (dang).
The coffee habit produced a strange hobby of buying exotic new coffee makers on my travels and then lugging them home, bulky and bubble-wrapped. Now, with a pile of coffee making devices in my cupboard, I can geek out on all the options for my morning cup. Below are six tasty ways to brew a pot.
1. The Press
The French press, coffee plunger, caffetiere or Bodum. Call it what you like, it&s a popular little gadget.
French Press photo by
Where you&ll find it:
These tabletop urns are popular in France (where they were first patented), and other parts of western Europe. It&s also used in North America, South Africa, Australia and New Zealand.
How it&s prepared:
A good brew will start with coarsely-ground coffee beans. Use a tablespoon of grinds for each &cup& (4 oz of coffee). Pour boiled water gently and evenly over the grinds. Coffee geeks here will backseat-brew with jabber about the &bloom&; a slow bubbling on the surface that looks like an opening flower. If your grinds start to froth up, you&re doing well so far. If you&re not seeing it, give the brew a few gentle stirs to get the bloom going.
Let the coffee sit about three minutes, then plunge. It&s oddly satisfying.
The taste:
The press extracts more oils from the beans, so the flavour is clearer and the texture is thicker than with a drip. It&s also said to produce the purest taste, since there are no paper filters and no risk of overheating. Mild coffees brew especially well in the press, since the &clean& preparation allows you to pick up the subtle notes.